Page Rank 5 SPAM
Posted on 02 Mar 2008 17:40:29 by John SlaterOver the last month add2rss, Feed Mailer and JCWEB Europe have all been hit by spam. Not e-mail spam but website spam, spam that hits the source code. Somehow and for some reason all 3 sites have been hit by spammers who have not damaged or defaced the site, but instead added over 2000 hidden links to our source code.
I'm unsure how these people did this or why all these 3 websites were targeted but somehow they were able to edit our source and but links into our website, the links were hidden to the public only but Google could see them and because of this they were indexed as part of our website.
The first person i contacted was Servage, they are the website hosts i have been using for over 2 years now and like always they offered very poor customer support and blamed the whole incident on me. My suggestion is never to use Servage, they have very poor customer support and a very poor service, because of this your website will spend about 2 hours in downtime every 2 months.
I'm curious to see if anyone has experienced a similar incident with their website, the only connection between those 3 sites is that they all have a Google Page Rank of 5, no other websites have been affected as of yet.
Comments
Thanks for the heads up. M and Chris have found the problem on our server and we think it should stop now.
If you spot it again please do give me a shout via comments or e-mail.
Thanks.
Posted on 12 Mar 2008 19:34:14 by John Slater
Posted on 12 Mar 2008 19:34:14 by John Slater
c1naG2 qzqjvqsfjmwp, [url=http://tqqodopclvmk.com/]tqqodopclvmk[/url], [link=http://sauaozcguubg.com/]sauaozcguubg[/link], http://xfpjyaogddil.com/
Posted on 27 Jun 2008 12:45:16 by ssmiccp
Posted on 27 Jun 2008 12:45:16 by ssmiccp
News RSS
By Email
Tutorial RSS
del.icio.us
digg it
technorati
reddit
stumble
facebook
Posted on 12 Mar 2008 11:25:43 by Don